Pinterest to Personal: Dry Erase Board

Hello.  My name is Megan and I am addicted to making lists.  I have lists next to my bed, in my planner, on my Google calendar, on post-it notes in my purse, in two notebooks, and on randomly placed note-cards and scraps of paper around the apartment.  Yes, I have a problem.  There is just something about the crossing off of a task that makes me feel exhilarated.  I love looking back at old yearly planners (yes, I still have them all from middle school through the present day) and seeing all of the things I accomplished, the schedules I maintained, and the meetings, meals, movies, parties, weddings I attended.  And to think I feel busy now!

Sustaining my addiction these lists however takes an immeasurable amount of paper which is just plain inconsiderate to our lovely Planet Earth.  Enter Pinterest to save our planet (and hopefully cure my problem) with a DIY Dry Erase Board.  This project literally took $10 and less than 15 minutes.

1.  Gather your supplies.

Purchased from JoAnn Fabrics:
–  Picture Frame with a Glass Mirror ($7.99, originally $19.99, size 16×20)
–  Scrapbook Paper (Bought 5 Pieces for $0.99, only needed 3)

Previously Owned:
–  Tape
–  Scissors/Paper Cutter
–  Dry-Erase Marker

2.  If necessary, remove the white edges of the scrapbook paper.

3.  Remembering to align the pattern, lay the scrapbook paper face down with the original frame picture/paper (the white picture with the children on it) on top.  Using a pencil trace the original frame picture.

4.  Cut the scrapbook paper to size and tape together on the backside.

5.  Finish by inserting the adjoined scrapbook paper into the picture frame.

Placed in our office/2nd bedroom I am hoping my new dry-erase board will serve as the perfect place to jot down reminders to myself (and Justin) as well as serve as a welcome board for any guests we may have in the future.  Do I think it will rid me of all my other lists?  Probably not, but at least it’s a start.  Fingers crossed, here’s to hoping!

5 thoughts on “Pinterest to Personal: Dry Erase Board

  1. What a cute idea!! I, too, am addicted to making lists, and right before reading this post, I think I found about 4 random post-it notes with my “to do’s”…

    Like

    • LOVE IT! Seriously the easiest solution ever! Although I know I will still use my planner, Google calendar, and notebook still, I am at least eliminating the bed, office, and post-it lists!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Design: DIY Desk Organizer (So long, clutter!) | Chicago Signature Properties

Leave your comment here!

