Salmon with Peppers

I am not one to venture outside my comfort zone when it comes to food.  I’m more into the basics:  meat, potato, and corn with a side of ketchup.  Ask anyone.  So when I casually mentioned we were having salmon for dinner, people froze.  No literally, no one believed me.  I’m not going to pretend that after cooking this meal I am by any means in love with salmon or wanting it every week for the rest of my life, hell, I don’t even want it once a month for the rest of my life, BUT I will say this recipe made salmon taste pretty darn good.  Justin compared it to restaurant quality.  Yeah, that’s right, I’m amazing.

Total Time:     30 minutes
Makes:            4 servings

Ingredients:
1 cup instant brown rice
1 1/2 tsp canola oil
4 skinless center-cut salmon fillets (5 oz each)
2 limes
3 small peppers (red, yellow, and orange)
1 medium onion
1/2 cup packed fresh basil leaves
6 oz baby spinach (we skipped this step)

Steps:
1.  Prepare brown rice as box directs.

2.  In 12-inch skillet, heat 1/2 tsp oil on medium 1 minute.  Sprinkle 1/4 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper on salmon.  Add to skillet.  Cook 8-10 minutes or until opaque throughout.

3.  While salmon cooks, slice peppers and finely chop onion.

4.  Transfer salmon to serving plates adding a grated peel of whole lime on top.

5.  Drain fat from skillet.  Heat 1 tsp oil in skillet on medium 1 minute.  Add peppers, onion, 3 tbsp water, and 1/8 tsp salt.

6.  Cover and cook 5 minutes.  Uncover; cook 3 to 5 minutes longer or until tender, stir occasionally.

7.  Stir in basil and cook until wilted.  Squeeze 1 tbsp lime juice into mixture.

8.  In a large bowl, combine spinach and a pinch of salt.  Cover with vented plastic wrap; microwave on 3 minutes or until wilted.  (We skipped this step!)

9.  Serve salmon, rice, and pepper mixture (with spinach if wanted).

One thought on “Salmon with Peppers

  1. As the lucky guy that gets to devour these great meals, I highly recommend the salmon with peppers and brown rice followed by a healthy helping of the chocolate chip cookies and milk…nothing beats it.

    Like

Leave your comment here!

