Inspired by InStyle

Turning the mailbox key to find my favorite monthly subscriptions InStyle, People StyleWatch, and Real Simple pouring out makes any grey day suddenly brighter.  However, constantly tearing out page after page of outfit and decor inspiration has unfortunately only led to an obsessive hoarding mess of magazine pages (see the mess here) instead of the hopeful incorporation of these new, fresh ideas into my mundane wardrobe and decorating skills.  The article Revisit Your Classics in the January issue of InStyle stopped me dead in my tracks for one reason:  I already owned every single piece featured, no shopping required.  Although since I had never actually worn or yet removed the tags from my red blazer, cheetah heels, or blouse it felt like I was shopping for a brand new outfit in my own closet (Justin’s favorite kind of shopping that I do).  Honestly, I would never have put this look together on my own:  the combination of the bright blazer and statement shoe is far more attention grabbing than my usual and comfortable outfits consisting of a grey/white/black color combo.  Also, I love the different opportunities that this outfit presents:  get rid of the stuffy blouse for a simple white tank, change the heels to flats for comfy weekend wear, or reverse the pop of color from your blazer to your shirt.  How do you mix up your classic pieces to create of the season looks?  Would you rock a bold color and print together?

January 2012 Issue pg 61{Blazer, Necklace, Jeans, Clutch: Forever 21 | Blouse:  Tommy Hilfiger |
Shoes:  Betsey Johnson | Watch:  Michael Kors}

9 thoughts on “Inspired by InStyle

  1. Pingback: Thrifty Threads: Red Hot Leopard « The Thread Affect

  2. Pingback: InAwe at InStyle « The Thread Affect

  3. Pingback: Thrifty Threads: Color Blocking Blazer « The Thread Affect

  4. Pingback: Congratulations Megan! « thetwentysixthyear

  5. Pingback: Catwoman « The Thread Affect

  6. Pingback: Repeat Times Four | The Thread Affect

  7. Pingback: 101 Accomplishments | The Thread Affect

Leave your comment here!

