Fruit Smoothies

The farmer’s market and I have a love-hate relationship.  Love waking up on Saturday to peruse the numerous tents stocked full of fresh, local produce, flowers, and homemade pastries.  Hate making a decision about which of said delicious treats to actually purchase and take home with me!  If I had my way, my reusable bag would be spilling over with strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, peaches, kiwi, spinach, cheese, jam, bread, and flowers every weekend.  Unfortunately, my eyes are generally larger than my stomach or than our busy schedule allows for consumption of these time sensitive purchases.  The idea of throwing away these items at the end of their short life span really drives me crazy, so I have begun turning them into easy peesy smoothies at the end of the week!  Here are two of my new favorite concoctions, as they remind me of my favorite Whitey’s Razzle Dazzle and Strawberry Berry smoothies that are a long, three-hour drive away.

Orange Berry Smoothie (left):  Simply combine 2 peeled and cut into chunks navel oranges, 1 cup blueberries, and 1 cup raspberries in a blender and blend until smooth.  Don’t have or want to purchase fresh blueberries or strawberries?  Simply use frozen!  I’ve done both and they taste equally delicious!

Strawberry Lemonade Smoothie (right):  Blend together 6 ounces frozen lemonade concentrate, 6 ounces water, and 3 cups fresh or frozen strawberries; garnish with a lemon.

5 thoughts on “Fruit Smoothies

  1. Pingback: Friday Five: Recipes of 2012 | The Thread Affect

Leave your comment here!

