Southwest Quinoa Salad

Some girlfriends and I recently started a Book Club. It’s the perfect excuse to read a new book (which I love to do) and catch up with some of my favorite girls each month. I hosted our inaugural book club and was responsible for the main course of dinner. I wanted something healthy, but filling and I think I hit the nail on the head. This recipe is also totally transitional to a side. Not to mention, the leftovers were delicious!

Southwest Quinoa Salad

image

Original Recipe: My Kitchen Addiction

Ingredients:

    • 1 1/2 hearts of romaine lettuce, washed and chopped
    • 1/2 cup quinoa
    • 1 cup water
    • 15-oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
    • 15-oz can of corn, rinsed and drained
    • 1 red bell pepper, diced
    • 1 avocado, diced
    • 1/2 red onion, diced
    • Handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
    • Kosher salt
    • Freshly ground black pepper
    • Fresh Gourmet Tortilla Strips (Lightly Salted) for salad topping
    • 15-oz jar Marzetti Light Chipotle Ranch Dressing

Directions:

  1. Cook quinoa based on package instructions.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the beans, corn, bell pepper, avocado, and onion.
  3. Once the quinoa has cooled, add it to the bean and vegetable mixture.
  4. Add salt and pepper to taste. Mix until combined.
  5. Place chopped romaine in serving dish. Mix in quinoa, bean and vegetable mixture and top with tortilla strips.
  6. Serve with Chipotle Ranch dressing on the side.

I doubled the recipe for Book Club.

ENJOY!
XO,
Kate

6 thoughts on “Southwest Quinoa Salad

    • Thanks for the link party invite!! I actually ended up linking my peanut butter Rudolph cookies instead since they seemed more “Christmas-y”! Hope that was okay! I can’t wait to try all the recipes on the link party!! Such a great idea to pull all holiday recipe inspiration into one place! Thanks Kristy!

      Like

Leave your comment here!

