Product Review: Smashbox BB Cream

For as long as I can remember, I’ve switched between drugstore beauty bargains choosing mainly whatever I found on sale that week or a magazine promoted in their “Steals & Deals” article.  Yes, I understand this means I’m not always using the best product for my skin, but I just couldn’t fathom spending hard-earned money on something that was going to need replaced again next month.  Plus, the overwhelming intimidation I felt walking through the numerous aisles trying to decide not only between brands but also between which product type, included ingredients, skin tone/type, benefits received, and colors/shades was enough to make me grab the foundation/powder/lipstain/moisturizer that was on sale and run as fast as I could to the nearest check-out (unless it was Target, then I’d be there another 45 minutes perusing every single department).  Then two days before our big adventure around the world, a light-bulb went off inside my head and I realized I was turning twenty-seven (ugh), needed a quality product for my problematic skin since I was no longer on dermatological prescriptions (yikes!), and needed something small, compact, and multipurpose to minimize space.  It was a lot to ask.  The answer:  Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream with SPF 35.

Product-3WHY?

  • I always wanted to try the raved about Smashbox Primer, but couldn’t afford to pay so much for so little and this BB cream included a primer so it was like getting a foundation and a primer in one bottle for the same price
  • BB Creams were all the talk in recent months (I know people have now moved on to CC Creams and I’m a little behind)
  • First time ever paying over $15 for a beauty product, it had to work.  Right?

The Product Claims:

  • Always be camera ready with this 5-in-1 BB Cream!
  • Prime, perfect, protect, hydrate, and control oil in one step to create a flawless face in a flash
  • Wear alone or under foundation for more coverage
  • Contains SPF 35
  • Come in 5 Shades: Fair, Light, Light/Medium, Medium, Dark
  • Active Ingredients:  Octinoxate (UV filter/absorber), Octisalate (UVB absorber), Oxybenzone (sunscreen), and Titanium Dioxide (colorant, UV absorber)
  • Costs:  $39 for 1 fl oz/30 ml
  • Where to Purchase: Smashbox, Sephora, Ulta

How I Apply It:

  1. Apply a moisturizer with additional SPF (this one)
  2. Squeeze a pea size amount on the back of my hand
  3. Apply using a foundation brush (here, here)
  4. Set with finishing powder (this one)

Product-2Pros:

  • Biggest deal (for me):  does NOT break out my super problematic skin (think: a sixteen year old in puberty..awesome, right?)
  • Stays on ALL day.  I can’t even tell you how much this matters especially for someone with problematic skin (me) to not have to worry about coverage all day.
  • Contains SPF 35 (huge deal especially as I notice all my wrinkles more and more)
  • Goes on light and smooth, could easily build to a more full coverage
  • Skin looks smoother and more evenly toned in photos = confidence boost

Cons:

  • Provides a light, full coverage over my normal skin and it’s usual adjoining bumps, but have to use an additional concealer for more prominent red pimples (gross, I know) which negates the time-saving and 5-in-1 promise
  • Would definitely use an additional moisturizer containing SPF benefits especially for dry skin
  • The limited color options are a bit disappointing as other BB creams come in numerous shades – a little nervous if it will still look good when I lose my Aussie tan
  • Pricing is pretty high for the amount of product received

What has been your experience with BB Creams and/or Smashbox products?  Have you ever tried this product or another one that you have loved or hated?

Disclaimer:  I did not receive any products or compensation for this post, all thoughts and reviews are my own.
Leave your comment here!

