93 in 930

MakeitHappenThe moment I heard about the 101 in 1001 challenge via Sam and Design Darling I was immediately brainstorming ideas for my own personal list. Unfortunately 1001 days from now ended on a completely random day in my life whereas 930 days from today I conveniently turn 30. Ouch, that hurts even to say type. My 30th birthday is fast approaching and this 2.5 year bucket list seems like the best way to ensure these 930 precious days of my twenties don’t get away from me. I must admit and it may come across snobby (swear I’m not trying to be because I am forever appreciative of the opportunities we experienced this last year), but it was extremely difficult to muster up even 93 tasks since in the past 7 months I have basically completed the majority of my previous bucket list (travel, adventures, skydiving, bungee jumping, etc). But in the end it pushed me to really look to the past to see what I want to improve on and to look to the future for what I hope my life looks like in 2.5 years and combine those goals into this measurable, quantitative list. So without further ado here is my list of 93 tasks to accomplish in 930 days! Here we GOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Start Date: Wednesday, May 15th, 2013
End Date: Tuesday, December 1st, 2015

BOLD items = Completed
Italicized items = In Progress

Educational:
1. Read 10 biographies/memoirs (1/10) (Orange is the New Black)
2. Read 1 new book a month (14/30) (The Paris Wife, The Ashford Affair, Lean In, Love with a Chance of Drowning, The Fault of Our Stars, Revenge Wears Prada, I’m Proud of You, He’s Gone, Girls in White Dresses, The New American Road Trip Mixtape, The Husband’s Secret, Unbroken, Where’d You Go, Bernadette, The Cartwheel, Looking for Alaska, Reconstructing Amelia, The Racketeer, )
3. Buy Photoshop and learn 20 new editing techniques (0/20)
4. Take a flower arranging class
5. Take an intro to sewing class (goal: hem my own jeans)
6. Take a cupcake or cake decorating class
7. Learn how to drive a manual car
8. Complete a personal training course
9. Grow our own herbs
10. Learn 4 new card games (two person and group) (0/4)
11. Learn 100 conversational phrases/words in Spanish

Blog:
12. Hire someone to design my blog website
13. Order business cards
14. Have 5 site sponsors
15. Attend a blogging conference (Simply Stylist)
16. Write an about me page and create a media kit
17. Guest blog post for 10 bloggers (0/10)
18. Host 10 giveaways (0/10)
19. Implement SEO strategies
20. Launch a collaborative series
21. Attend a fashion show
22. Inspire someone else to write a list

Personal:
23. Find a job I love
24. Add one more member to our family
25. Buy our first home
26. Join a church and be an active member
27. Join a competitive sports league
28. Buy a new (to me) car
29. Finish all our scrapbooks from our travels (Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, China, Nepal, Turkey/Greece, Prague, Germany, Amsterdam/Brussels/Paris, London, Ireland/London, Italy) and the years 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013
30. Put our wills and funeral arrangements in writing
31. Refrain from cursing for one whole week
32. Participate in 10 charitable walks/runs/events (1/10) (American Heart Association Quad-Cities Walk)
33. Decide my favorite flower
34. Make a list of 101 things I’ve already accomplished (here)
35. Donate blood at least 3 times (0/3)

Friends/Family:
36. Add all my friends and family’s birthdays/anniversaries to one collective book
37. Send 30 handwritten cards (2/30)
38. Send 5 just because care packages (1/5) (April 2014)
39. Host a themed party (i.e. murder mystery)
40. Pay it forward at least once a month (0/30)
41. Prepare and serve a 3-course meal including apps/drinks, dinner, and dessert
42. Collect family recipes into a single recipe book
43. Walk the dogs at least 5 times a week for a month (July 2013)
44. Find a doggie daycare for the girls

Health/Beauty:
45. Begin and maintain an effective anti-aging skin care routine (here)
46. Floss five times a week for a month (November 2013)
47. Implement a daily vitamin regimen
48. Run 3 times a week for a month
49. Try 2 new workout classes
50. Increase my flexibility to touch my toes while sitting
51. Try a juice cleanse
52. Go to a chiropractor
53. Try a new hair color or cut
54. Learn 5 new hairstyles
55. Find my perfect lipstick shade in red, coral, pink, burgundy, and neutral
56. Stop biting and picking my nails for 1 month
57. Give up pop for 1 month (January 2014)

Fun/Entertainment:
58. Participate in a flash mob
59. Watch 15 “classic” movies from AFI’s 100 Greatest Movies (7/15) (Shawshank Redemption, Annie Hall, Fargo, Gone with the Wind, Casablanca, Dances with Wolves, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Breakfast at Tiffany’s)
60. See all the Best Picture nominees before Oscar night
61. Watch all the Best Picture winners since 1985 (year I was born) (17/28) (Argo, The King’s Speech, The Hurt Locker, Slumdog Millionaire, No Country for Old Men, The Departed, Crash, Million Dollar Baby, Chicago, Titanic, Braveheart, Forrest Gump, Schindler’s List, Dances with Wolves, Driving Miss Daisy, Silence of the Lambs, Rain Man)
62. Determine my go-to karaoke song and sing it in public
63. Do the Polar Plunge
64. Leave a 100% tip
65. Participate in a Color Run (here)

Make/Do/Organize:
66. Refurbish a piece of furniture
67. Bake 5 recipes from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook (2/5) (Chocolate Chip Cookies, Peanut Butter Cookies)
68. Chop down our own Christmas tree (here)
69. Organize all my belongings at my parents’ house (August 2013)
70. Create a wooden frame for our travel map
71. Create a home management organizational binder
72. Organize our postcards from past trips
73. Make our own curtains
74. Send out Christmas cards both years (1/2) (2013)
75. Paint our (future) front door a bright, welcoming color

Travel:
76. Move to a new city/state (August 2013 – read here)
77. Add at least one more passport stamp
78. Drink my way through Sonoma/Napa Valley (here)
79. Have a girls’ weekend with my mom outside of Iowa or Illinois
80. 5 trips from The New York Times: 36 Hours: 150 Weekends in the USA & Canada (1/5) (San Francisco)
81. Travel to 5 new states (4/5) (South Dakota, Wyoming, Idaho, Montana)
82. Be a tourist in my own city for a day
83. Attend Brimfield Antique Show
84. Catch, prepare, and eat my own fish
85. White water raft

Investments:
86. A classic handbag
87. Fun heels (printed or bright)
88. 10 new coffee table books
89. 2 sets of pretty pajamas (1/2) (for winter: this + this)
90. A cute pair of non-running tennis shoes (black + white)
91. 1 Month No Buying Freeze
92. Add $20 to a savings account for each item completed
93. Have a 30th birthday celebration in honor of finishing this list!

Shecould

20 thoughts on “93 in 930

  1. This is such an awesome list Megan! I’m sure you’ll knock ’em out before you know it. You found some really awesome collection lists to go off of (I love the New York Times 36 hours one in particular). Fabulous idea, good luck!

    Like

    • I purchased that book about a year ago and haven’t used it yet and thought this would be a great way to finally get the most out of it! Do you have a bucket list at all?

      Like

    • I too had a harder time than I thought I would coming up with 93 things, but I am excited that I did because now I have a shorter term bucket list and goals to reach before I turn 30!

      Like

  2. Pingback: 101 Accomplishments | The Thread Affect

  3. LOVE this… so inspiring.. Plus all of your goals are within reason and obtainable… plus some could continue past the end date… just sayin’ life gets busy – HOWEVER if anyone can do this.. it’s you!

    Like

    • Awe thanks! I’m trying hard to at least try to cross off one thing each week so it doesn’t all pile up at the end! Last week it was 101 Accomplishments and this week it may just be watching an AFI movie, but hey got to start somewhere!

      Like

  4. Pingback: June Highlights | The Thread Affect

  5. Pingback: Dances with Wolves | The Thread Affect

  6. Pingback: 12 Hours // Seattle Apartment | The Thread Affect

  7. Pingback: What I Wore // Tree Hunting | The Thread Affect

  8. Pingback: December Highlights + January Goals | The Thread Affect

  9. Pingback: 12 Hours // Snowshoeing Mount Rainier | The Thread Affect

  10. Pingback: Favorite Beauty Buys | The Thread Affect

  11. Pingback: March Highlights + April Goals | The Thread Affect

Leave your comment here!

