Product Review: Joe Fresh for JCP

JoeFresh-2Without fail every issue of People StyleWatch would have me wishing on a shooting star that Joe Fresh would open a retail store in Chicago or at the very least offer online ordering for those of us not fortunate enough to be living near a retail store in Canada or New York City. My wish came true with Joe Fresh‘s launch of boutiques within over 680 nationwide JCPenney’s. Now I can stop embarrassingly drooling over the “Deals & Steals” pages of my magazines and finally physically touch, try on, and purchase the stylish and affordable apparel at my local JCPenney’s sans the pricey flight to New York. No JCPenney’s near you? Not to worry, their entire Joe Fresh collection is also available online. Thank you JCPenney’s. After my seven month travel hiatus, I was excited to try on all the pieces of the Joe Fresh JCPenney’s collection and thought it would be fun/helpful to share my thoughts on the price, quality, and fit.

History: Since its debut in 2006 under the creative direction of Canadian, Joe Mimran (who also co-founded Club Monaco), to provide chic affordable apparel for men, women, and children, Joe Fresh has opened 300+ stores in Canada and expanded internationally by opening stores in NYC and boutique stores in JCPenney’s. Mayor Michael Bloomberg dubbed Joe Fresh “the greatest Canadian export since Justin Bieber” (that’s a compliment if I’ve ever heard one). Their goal is to provide fresh style at a fresh price.

JoeFresh-1Store Appearance: JCPenney’s displayed their Joe Fresh collection at the front of the store so it was visible to all store customers and mall visitors. The Joe Fresh section was bright in the company’s signature orange and white, open and clean in layout to make browsing easier, and organized by size and color families (navy and black sections). The cohesive white hangers against the bright colors and patterns of the clothing made the whole collection very appealing.

JoeFresh-3JoeFresh-4JoeFresh-5JoeFresh-6As I have never personally been to a Joe Fresh store, I went on their company website to compare their JCPenney’s collection to their actual in-store collection and was pleasantly surprised by how many of the items from JCPenney’s directly resembled the in-store pieces in terms of price, materials, fit, and customer reviews. I feel that unlike collaborations at other stores, these Joe Fresh pieces are created equal to their standalone stores so customer’s are fully getting the desirable pieces, not cheaper versions of the real thing. Below I broke down my opinions on fit and quality related to individual items that I actually tried on at my local JCPenney’s, however, overall I strongly feel that the Joe Fresh’s JCPenney’s collection offers easy to wear/pair pieces of great quality and fit at an extremely affordable/fair price and I would highly recommend these products to anyone. My only complaint is that I had a difficult time finding my size in a majority of the items while in the store, but was thrilled to see I could find most of them online (generally sizing down one size). Have you tried Joe Fresh’s collection before? What did you think about the sizing, fit, and/or quality? I would love to hear if anyone has a first hand comparison of their standalone store collection to their JCPenney’s collection!

JoeFresh-7JoeFresh-8Long-Sleeve 100% Silk Shirt (now $36, orig $49): comes in 3 fun, bright colors, rich 100% silk material (feels just like my expensive Equipment blouse), versatile (covers my bum but tucks in easily), size down one size, wearing an x-small (online reviews)

Print Blazer (now $44, orig $59): material feels as soft as butter, beautiful print in navy and white, hits right at the hip (I prefer more of a boyfriend style to hide my hips) but fit my shoulders/waist/sleeve length perfectly, sized true to size (wearing a size 2)

Ankle-Zip Color Jeans in White ($29): 6 different summery color options, surprisingly liked the side zipper detail, made of cotton/spandex, size down one size (in the picture mine are two sizes too big of what I bought) (online reviews)

JoeFresh-12Striped Colorblock Dress ($29): lightweight material, size down (I’m wearing a small, but would have liked to try an x-small), personally not a fan of the strings at the neck (online review)

JoeFresh-10JoeFresh-11Floral Print Shorts ($19): love the tropical cuffed pattern (comes in two colors), size down for a slimmer fit or buy your normal size and alter the waist band for a looser, casual fit (wearing my usual size 2, would go with a 0) (online reviews)

Shawl-Collar Sleeveless Top in Lt. Green ($24): drawn to the flat collar and the mint/aqua color (also in tan that looks more creamy white), sized correctly, wearing a small, lightweight crepe fabric but NOT see through, great to tuck in or leave out, perfect for summer and layering (online reviews)

JoeFresh-9Cap-Sleeve Cuff Dress ($29, orig. $39):  black and white print is right on trend, cap sleeves and black banded bottom panel are flattering, would love to add a belt to add shape, personally I felt a little on the momish side, size down, wearing an x-small (online reviews)

JoeFresh-14Dolman-Sleeve Collar Dress ($29): hands down my least favorite piece in the collection that I tried on, the dolman sleeves made me feel like a flying nun, ran huge (wearing an x-small), comes in two additional colors (black and coral)

JoeFresh-15JoeFresh-16White Lace Front Tee ($19) (no longer available online but still in stores, similar): absolutely loved this shirt, the front has the lace detail while the back is a plain tee, which made the fabric movable and comfortable, also comes in navy, wearing an x-small

Relaxed-Fit Crinkle Pants ($29): rayon material, pockets, relaxed fit, love, love, love these pants, casual or dressy, true to size (wearing a size 2) (online reviews)

JoeFresh-13Striped Boatneck Dress ($29): wearing a small would rather have an x-small since it is a shift dress, love the classic stripes with an orange update, also in shades of blues, dress up or down, perfect, wish they had my size 😦 (online reviews)

JoeFresh-19Striped Tee ($14): also in red, thin cotton perfect for summer, updated basic striped tee with the contrasting sleeve stripes, sized down to an x-small, everyone needs this tee (online reviews)

Print Canvas Shorts in Bright Pink ($19): cotton/spandex material, true to size (I’m wearing a 6 as they didn’t have my size in this color but would get my normal 2 in this pair), love the paisley print (also in black) and the classic fit of the shorts

JoeFresh-17JoeFresh-18Ribbed Sleeve Top ($19): elegant and flowy, great bold print with banded sleeves, flattering, so so so comfortable, poly/spandex, wearing a small, may go with an x-small tho (online review)

Relaxed-Fit Crinkle Pants ($29): rayon material, pockets, relaxed fit, love, love, love these pants, casual or dressy, true to size (wearing a size 2) (online reviews)

JoeFresh-21Racerback Tank Top in White ($12): I had to share this super unflattering picture as I was super disappointed at how see through this white tank was, loved how it covered my bum but only wearable layered under something, wearing an x-small (online reviews)

JoeFresh-20Voile Shirt in Bright Yellow ($19): also in navy, white, and pink, light breezy perfect-for-summer fabric, sizing depends on the fit you desire – I’m wearing a small for a casual fit but would get an x-small for a more polished look, perfect summer button down (online reviews)

JoeFresh-22Find your local JCPenney’s HERE!

**This is NOT a sponsored post. I am in no way receiving any compensation for this post (money, gift cards, or product), I am just generally excited about this launch and wanted to share my opinions**
18 thoughts on “Product Review: Joe Fresh for JCP

  1. I really like the new JCP and the Joe Fresh line. I never really shopped at JCP until recently when they started to cater to a younger demographic. I am hoping that Joe Fresh keeps its promise to have safer working conditions for its factory workers after the Bangladesh factory fire killed so many. That being said, If they do keep their promise, I see myself buying some of their items every now and then because I really do like it. Thanks for sharing, the striped boatneck dress is my favorite 🙂

    Like

  2. This is a great review Megan!! I like how you paired everything together, it looks like a fun for summer collection with all their bright colors! I agree that sizing can be a pain in the butt if everything isn’t available!!

    Like

    • Thanks Sarah! Hopefully it was helpful! Have you tried anything from the JCP Joe Fresh collection? Hope all is well and you are enjoying the Chicago summer!

      Like

    • To be honest, I find when I go into Charming Charlie I am Overwhelmed!! I forget as there are so many of your cool fashion posts but do you shop there? Or do you focus on say jewelry from Forever 21? I love scarves and bracelets and dangle earrings. Which is why I love Charming Charlie: they have an amazing selection of scarves!

      So I just thought of something too: I don’t really know how to wear a scarf but say 3 different ways. It would be a cool post if you showed different scarf styles with outfits and how you tie them. 😀 Like maybe in the fall, when scarves become more wearable again. Just a thought!

      Like

    • I have no idea what Charming Charlie is! I feel like I should know that but I have no idea! Is it a jewelry only store? I will most definitely do a scarf three ways post this fall when I can actually stand the thought of having all that extra fabric around my neck! Also, I will respond to your email later today! Hope you had a great weekend Mel!

      Like

    • I think you would really love Charming Charlie. They carry jewelry, scarves, dresses and shirts, cute shoes and other accessories. Best part is that it is all color coordinated. No joke. Makes shopping very easy if you know specific colors you want but otherwise I spend my time waltzing around just looking. LOL. I hope you find one and can see for yourself. Let me know if you do! Thanks for the email..I will respond soon!

      Like

  3. I LOVE THIS POST – the photos, the outfits you created, your opinions, all the information. all of it! it’s great. it makes me want to go shopping …I adore the relaxed-fit crinkle pants! ahhhh. love it. and I agree, do more of these!! brilliant. xo – chels @ LLinaBC.com

    Like

    • ME TOO! Aren’t those pants AH-MAZING? They were so unbelievably comfortable but looked sophisticated and chic. Have you tried any of the Joe Fresh collection before?

      Like

  4. Pingback: June Highlights | The Thread Affect

  5. Pingback: Homepage

Leave your comment here!

