Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli

BeefandBroccoli-2My favorite slow cooker recipe for EASE – two step recipe made even simpler with precut beef and preminced garlic. Seriously, dump it in and come back later. My least favorite recipe for FLAVOR – I personally don’t like soy sauce, but my mom and Justin do so I wanted to at least give it another try. They absolutely LOVED the taste of this recipe, I didn’t as much. Could I eat it? Absolutely! Would I chose to eat it over this recipe? Not a chance. Would I make it again to curb Justin’s Chinese food craving? You betcha!

BeefandBroccoliSlowCookerSlow Cooker Beef & Broccoli (adapted from):

1 lb beef stew meat or boneless beef chuck roast, cut into strips
1 cup beef broth
1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
1/3 cup dark brown sugar
1 tablespoon sesame oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons cornstarch
4 tablespoons sauce (taken from the crockpot)
2 cups broccoli florets (used fresh leftovers from this recipe)
white or brown rice (I used 1 cup of Uncle Ben’s Instant Brown Rice)

In the Crock-Pot, whisk together beef broth, soy sauce, dark brown sugar, sesame oil, and garlic. Gently place beef slices in the liquid and toss until coated. Cook on low for 4-6 hours (I cooked for 6 the first time and my beef ended up shredded, the second time I cooked for 4 and the beef stayed chunky).

When done, whisk together cornstarch and 4 tablespoons of the cooking liquid in a small bowl. Pour into the Crock-Pot, mix well, and cook on low for an additional 30 minutes. Toss in your broccoli, then serve over hot rice.

Yields 3-4 servings | 10 minutes prep | 4 hours and 30 minutes cook time

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli

  1. Pingback: Red-Wine Beef Stew | My Passions

Leave your comment here!

