Book Review: Lean In

LeanInLean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg

The criticism surrounding this “sort of feminist manifesto” is out of this world. From the claims she had a ghost writer to the scrutiny that Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook, herself is too privileged to offer career advice to women struggling with the day-to-day realities to reviews that her entire process of leaning in to the workplace and out of the home is impractical. But as Sheryl says, women must start supporting women and I for one am a huge supporter of her and this book! From the moment I started reading it I have been guilty on more than one a hundred occasions of bringing up her ideas in conversation, to prove points, and to further my own ambitions. I’ve talked about it so much in fact that Justin, by his own freewill mind you, is now reading the book! Here are just a few of my favorite quotes that will probably become my subconscious motivators from here on out.

“Done is better than perfect.”

“There is no perfect fit when you’re looking for the next big thing to do. You have to take opportunities and make an opportunity fit for you, rather than the other way around. The ability to learn is the most important quality a leader can have.”

“There’s a special place in hell for women who do not help other women”

“If I had to embrace a definition of success, it would be that success is making the best choices we can…and accepting them.”

“Owning one’s success is key to achieving more success.”

“Self-doubt becomes a form of self-defense”

“A feminist is someone who believes in social, political, and economic equality of the sexes.”

Crap, guess I’m a feminist now. 🙂

NOW…Go to {little lessons in a big city} and read Chelsea’s review HERE!
AND..leave me a comment below on your thoughts!

Next Month’s Book Club Pick: Love with a Chance of Drowning

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Lean In

  1. A few comments…This book is an eye-opening read. As a female with a career that requires about 80% travel, 3 kids, a full-time working husband and a house to maintain, I needed to see that other women are fanatically career driven but also deal with similiar issues that I do. As one who is older than our dear blogger and a bit younger than Sheryl, I found myself wishing this book would have been published 10 years ago. Although I did not 100% agree with every single part of the book, it is such an inspiring effort to SCREAM at women that they can be successful in the workplace….to not fall prey to passive-agressive discriminations set forth by men, other women AND themselves! At times I found myself looking back over my own career and finding my very own similiar stories to Sheryl’s. It was disheartening, eye-opening and empowering as I worked through the emotions of realization. A powerful predecessor to this book is called “Break Your Own Rules” by Flynn, Heath and Holt. FH&H are fantastic women who are referenced in Sheryl’s book under the section about the women’s program at Deloitte (WIN Initiative). I have personally met Jill Flynn and she is someone we all should see as a pioneer, similiar to Sheryl.

    Like

  2. Pingback: book review: lean in. | little lessons in a BIG city

  3. Pingback: 93 in 930 | The Thread Affect

Leave your comment here!

