Recipe // Crock Pot Roast Chicken

CrockpotchickenHow amazing does this slow cooker roast chicken look? Basically too good to eat, magazine quality, am I right? I’m mighty impressed if I do say so myself. Now for the truth…I wish with every ounce of cooking talent that I was the one who so perfectly created that gorgeous cooked bird and could claim it as my own. Unfortunately in reality when I attempted the Crock Pot Roast Chicken recipe from the extremely talented Iowa Girl Eats mine turned out in the mangled mess you see pictured below. Don’t let the photo fool you though, the recipe was beyond easy (less than 10 minutes of hands on time), tasted delicious (so tender it was literally falling off the bone), and would be a perfect way to get shredded chicken for other recipes!

Chicken-1Crock Pot Roast Chicken (recipe via):

3.5 – 4lb whole chicken, giblets and neck removed
2 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon paprika
1 tablespoon garlic powder
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon onion powder
1-1/2 teaspoons black pepper
6 ripped sheets foil, crumpled into balls

Place the six foil balls in bottom of crock pot. Pat chicken dry and remove skin if desired to lower fat content (chicken might be slightly less juicy.) Combine butter and extra virgin olive oil in a small bowl then stir in spices. Brush all over chicken, including under skin, then place chicken breast-side up in crock pot. Cook on high for 3-4 hours, or low for 6-7, or until meat is tender, and thigh can be easily removed.

5 thoughts on “Recipe // Crock Pot Roast Chicken

  1. When I saw the first photo of chicken on this post, my mouth instantly started watering and I instantly started thinking to myself that it looked way too difficult to perfect. Seeing how it actually turned out for you totally gives me hope though, haha! I’m not a master chef in the kitchen, but I love to cook, even when it doesn’t always turn out the way I expected. I definitely plan to make this recipe soon, especially since it sounds pretty fool-proof tastewise!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Best Crock Pot Recipes on the Net (October 2013 Edition) | The Food Explorer

Leave your comment here!

