Recipe // Candy Corn Sugar Cookies

candycorn-2As much as I hate to admit it, I do not like candy corn. I know, I know: how can someone not like candy corn? Please don’t send me hate mail or egg my door, I’ve really given it a chance and I just am not a fan. Not being one to want to feel left out or be guilty of not celebrating a holiday to the full extent, I created my own bite size candy corn to enjoy, they just happen to be in the form of delicious sugar cookies. Problem solved.

candycorn-1 candycorn-4 candycornsugarcookiesCandy Corn Cookies:

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 tbsp vanilla
1 egg
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3 cups flour
yellow and orange food coloring

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and powdered sugar. Add in the vanilla, egg, baking soda, and salt. Slowly add in the three cups of flour until well combined. Split dough into three equal parts. Add yellow food coloring to one section, orange to another, and leave one white. In a 9×5 loaf pan, press the white dough flat into the bottom followed by the orange then yellow. Place in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours or preferably overnight. Slice the dough into long horizontal slices, about 1/4 of an inch thick then into small triangles. Optional: dip one side of the triangle into sugar to make them sweeter. Place on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 6-8 minutes. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Recipe // Candy Corn Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: Threads 3 Ways // The LBD for Halloween | The Thread Affect

Leave your comment here!

