Tomato Tortellini Soup

This week I decided I needed a recipe that would be delicious, quick and easy to make AND that I could eat for lunch or dinner throughout the rest of the week. Lots of requirements! I was totally feeling a soup — warm and cozy with the chilly winter temps (although Mother Nature has been kind to Chicago so far this year!) and I hit the nail on the head! Delicious is an understatement. I had to make a couple of adjustments to the original recipe because I mis-calculated the seasonings that I owned, oops!

Tomato Tortellini Soup

image

Original recipe: Taste of Home

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages (9 ounces) refrigerated cheese tortellini
  • 2 cans (10-3/4 ounces each) reduced-sodium condensed tomato soup, undiluted
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 cups 2% milk
  • 2 cups half-and-half cream
  • 1/2 cup chopped oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon fresh onion, minced
  • 1 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • Mozzarella cheese for a topping, optional

Directions:

  1. Cook tortellini according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, combine the soup, broth, milk, cream, tomatoes, seasonings, and cheese on in a large pot on low heat.
  3. Drain tortellini; carefully add to soup.
  4. Simmer for 15 minutes.
  5. Sprinkle top with mozzarella cheese, if desired.

image

ENJOY!!
XO,
Kate

6 thoughts on “Tomato Tortellini Soup

  1. Pingback: Summer Salad | The Thread Affect

Leave your comment here!